top of page

2023 Athletes of the Year

2023 AOY-Frazier and Terrill.jpg

Collegiate Running Association

Announces 2023 Athletes of the Year


(Richmond, VA) Ryen Frazier (North Carolina State University) and Stuart Terrill (University of Richmond) have been named the 2023 Collegiate Running Association Athletes of the Year.

2023 Female Athlete of the Year – Ryen Frazier (North Carolina State University)

Ryen Frazier has been named the Collegiate Running Association’s Athlete of the Year Award after winning the 2023 Collegiate 10K Road Race National Championships in Richmond, Virginia.  On a course that has seen many of the nations top runners, Frazier pulled away from a stellar field to win the title by 25 seconds. The former NC State women’s cross country runner and current graduate student Frazier marked her first visit to Richmond with a win, finishing in 35:08 and claim the $1,000 prize for the top college student.  She outpaced runner-up Ainsley Jacobs (Towson University) by 25 seconds. The NC State graduate student had a busy spring season with several races and research work. Read about her 10K win here.

Along with winning the 10K road title, Frazier competed in the Collegiate Road Mile National Championships where she placed 3rd running 4:51.90 which ranks in the top 10 All-Time among collegians on the Loudoun Street Mile Course.


Frazier is a current PhD student at North Carolina State University in the Department of Forest Biomaterials, working as a graduate researcher for the department studying fiber spinning of natural cellulosics for textile applications. Graduate of Textile Engineering at North Carolina State University in Raleigh, NC with a graduate certification in Applied Statistics and Data Management. Marketing Analyst with two years of hands-on experience in database marketing and consumer analytics. Skilled in SAS, Lean Six Sigma, Javascript, Tableau, Data Analytics, and Project Management Leadership.


Visit Ryen's World Athletics profile HERE for a complete list of her 2023 performances:

2023 Male Athlete of the Year – Stuart Terrill (University of Richmond)

Stuart Terrill is the Collegiate Running Association’s Male Athlete of the Year. The University of Richmond standout won the 2023 Collegiate Trail Running National Championship, hosted by the Thunderbunny 11K (Athens, Ohio) in record time to close a strong spring season. He also placed in the runner-up position in the 2023 Collegiate 10K Road Race National Championships held within the Ukrops Monument Avenue 10K in Richmond, Virginia.

At the 2023 Collegiate Trail Running National Championships, Terrill and University of Richmond teammate Jordan Bendura, who was the runner-up in the 2022 Collegiate Championships, took the early lead as they hit the single-track trail and never looked back. By 2 miles, they had amassed a whopping one-minute lead on Cory Culbertson from Shawnee State University, Ian Switzer, and Ridge Cook from nearby Ohio University.


By 3.7 miles, Terrill had created distance between himself and Bendura, setting a course record pace. It was clearly a two-man race for the Collegiate Trail Running title, with the duo extending their lead. At 5 miles, it was all Terrill, and the only question remaining was how much he would eclipse Josh Park's course record of 44:55 set in 2022. At the finish line, Terrill cruised in, crushing the record with his remarkable 41:26 effort to claim the 2023 Collegiate Trail Running National Championship. 

During the 2023 Collegiate 10K Road Race Championship he came up a little short in a dramatic kick at the finish to place runner-up to NC State's, Robinson Snyder the morning after cracking 14:20 for 5K on the track at the University of Virginia.

In March he competed in the 2023 IC4A Indoor Track & Field Championships at Boston University where he ran 14:09.44 in the 5K to place 4th in the prestigious event.

Over the summer, the double major in Leadership and Rhetoric traveled extensively completing an internship with USATF where he researched the new World Athletics scoring system helping create a better understanding of the program for athletes and coaches looking to leverage events to improve their world ranking. 


Read more about his Collegiate Trail win here. Be sure to visit Stuart's TFFRS profile HERE.

Collegiate Running Association Athletes of the Year


2023-   Ryen Frazier (North Carolina State University)

             Stuart Terrill (University of Richmond)

2022-   Gina McNamara (University of Michigan)

              Joshua Park (Ohio University)

2021-   Zoe Matherne (PSU-Dickinson Law)

             Colin Cannon (George Mason University)

2020-   Keira D'Amato (University of Michigan, MI)

             Daniel Jaskowak (Virginia Tech, VA)


2019-   Bethany Sachtleben (Northern Virginia College, VA)

             Daniel Jaskowak (Virginia Tech, VA)

2018-   Bethany Sachtleben (Northern Virginia College, VA)

             Matthew McDonald (Georgia Tech, GA)

2017-   Corey Dowe (University of New England, NH)

             Patrick Smyth (University of Wisconsin-Madison, WI)


2016-   Bethany Sachtleben (Northern Virginia College, VA)

             Hayden Hawks (Southern Utah University, UT)


2015-   Kellyn Taylor (Coconino College, AZ)

             Joseph Gray (Calvary Bible College, CO)


2014-   Megan Deakins Roche (Stanford University, CA)

             Tyler McCandless (Penn State University, PA)

The Collegiate Running Association (CRA) is a 501c3 non-profit organization founded November, 2013 with a mission to promote healthy lifestyles among college students by providing and expanding opportunities in the sport of running. The vision of the CRA is to offer national championship events in road, mountain, and trail running with prize money specifically reserved for college students enrolled in at least one class. Membership is open to the public (click here).


Contact:          Collegiate Running Association



bottom of page