top of page

2022 Athletes of the Year

McNamara - Park.png

Collegiate Running Association Announces 2022 Athletes of the Year


(Richmond, VA) Gina McNamara (University of Michigan) and Joshua Park (Ohio University) have been named the 2022 Collegiate Running Association Athletes of the Year.

2022 Female Athlete of the Year – Gina McNamara

Gina McNamara has been named the Collegiate Running Association’s Athlete of the Year Award after winning the 2022 Collegiate Road Mile National Championships in Winchester, Virginia in record time.  On a course that has seen many of the nations top runners, McNamara pulled away from a stellar field in the final 300M to win the title. The University of Michigan graduate student had a tremendous spring season with several personal bests. Read about her Mile win here.

Gina joined Georgetown Running Club (GRC) after moving to Washington DC for work. Her pre-GRC tenure was spent at the University of Michigan, where Gina was 5X Big-Ten finalist in the 800M for the Wolverines. She has since expanded her range to include everything from road miles to the 5K, while occasionally dabbling in cross country races. Gina hopes to set new personal bests in the 1500 – 5K in the near future. When not running, Gina enjoys exploring the local coffee scene and traveling to new places. Visit Gina's World Athletics profile HERE for a complete list of her 2022 performances:


Personal Bests:
600M – 1:31
800M – 2:06.99
1000M – 2:45.27
1500M – 4:20.99
Mile (road) – 4:31.7
Mile (track) – 4:39.6

2022 Male Athlete of the Year – Joshua Park

Joshua Park is the Collegiate Running Association’s Male Athlete of the Year. The Ohio University standout won the 2022 Collegiate Trail Running National Championship, hosted by the Thunderbunny 11K.  He followed his OU career with a top 10 finish (9th - 1:19:24) in the USATF 25K Championships. Read more about his Collegiate Trail win here. Be sure to visit Joshua's World Athletics profile HERE.

Collegiate Running Association Athletes of the Year

2022-   Gina McNamara (University of Michigan)

              Joshua Park (Ohio University)

2021-   Zoe Matherne (PSU-Dickinson Law)

             Colin Cannon (George Mason University)

2020-   Keira D'Amato (University of Michigan, MI)

             Daniel Jaskowak (Virginia Tech, VA)


2019-   Bethany Sachtleben (Northern Virginia College, VA)

             Daniel Jaskowak (Virginia Tech, VA)

2018-   Bethany Sachtleben (Northern Virginia College, VA)

             Matthew McDonald (Georgia Tech, GA)

2017-   Corey Dowe (University of New England, NH)

             Patrick Smyth (University of Wisconsin-Madison, WI)


2016-   Bethany Sachtleben (Northern Virginia College, VA)

             Hayden Hawks (Southern Utah University, UT)


2015-   Kellyn Taylor (Coconino College, AZ)

             Joseph Gray (Calvary Bible College, CO)


2014-   Megan Deakins Roche (Stanford University, CA)

             Tyler McCandless (Penn State University, PA)

The Collegiate Running Association (CRA) is a 501c3 non-profit organization founded November, 2013 with a mission to promote healthy lifestyles among college students by providing and expanding opportunities in the sport of running. The vision of the CRA is to offer national championship events in road, mountain, and trail running with prize money specifically reserved for college students enrolled in at least one class. Membership is open to the public (click here).


Contact:          Collegiate Running Association



bottom of page