top of page
Steve Taylor Named 2023 USATF Brooks Johnson Development Chair of the Year
LaTanya Sheffield awards Brooks Johnson Award1.jpg
Steve Taylor is awarded the Brooks Johnson Development Award by USATF representative LaTanya Sheffield.

Collegiate Running Association co-founder, Steve Taylor was recognized by USATF at the 2023 annual meeting. Our thanks to USATF and the University of Richmond for the following:

(December 5, 2023)

Orlando, Florida – USA Track & Field (USATF), the national governing body of track and field announced Steve Taylor of Richmond, VA, as the recipient of the 2023 Brooks Johnson Development Chair of the Year during their Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida. This prestigious accolade, named after the legendary coach Brooks Johnson, is awarded by the USATF National Team Development Committee.
Taylor's career, marked by decades of success as both an athlete, coach and innovator within the sport, embodies the spirit of service and dedication. Serving on the USA Track & Field (USATF) National Team Development Committee as the Men's Long Distance Running (LDR) Chair for 3KSC, 5K, 10K, and Marathon events, Taylor serves a pivotal role in exploring highly performing endurance athletes who operate outside the USATF Tier system.
Since 2022, Taylor has further contributed his expertise as a member of the USATF Men's National LDR Executive Committee, whose strategic direction and decision-making processes are focused on long-distance running within the USATF framework.
His contributions to the sport were previously honored in 2018 by USA Track and Field with the prestigious H. Browning Ross Merit Award for his contributions and service to the sport. This national award is given annually to that individual who has made an outstanding contribution and/or has been of service to the sport of long distance running within the U.S. It was named in honor of the founder of the AAU LDR committee and the Road Runners Club of America, as well as the first recipient of the award in 1969.
Steve Taylor's designation as the 2023 Brooks Johnson Development Chair of the Year recognizes his commitment, expertise, and contributions to the growth and excellence of long distance running within the USATF organization. His service continues to elevate the standards of excellence within the sport.

bottom of page